Skip to product information
1 of 2

Straight Arrows - Surface World - LP/CD

Straight Arrows - Surface World - LP/CD

Regular price £19.99
Regular price Sale price £19.99
Sale Sold out
Tax included.



Sydney 4-piece Straight Arrows have returned with their 4th studio album ‘Surface World’ today via Rice Is Nice Records in Australia, Agitated Records in the UK/EU and Lolipop Records in the US on the 9th of August.
Since forming back in 2007, Straight Arrows have been a force on the Australian indie scene; with 10x 7”s, 3x studio albums, a live LP and countless shows domestically and internationally under their belt, the band have developed a devoted fan-base, and praise from the likes of Henry Rollins and Iggy Pop along the way. 
Recorded at Marrickville’s Golden Retriever Studios with Nick Franklin (Polish Club, The Buoys), their 4th LP ‘Surface World’ is a whirlwind of fuzzy riffs and infectious hooks. Thematically, ‘Surface World’, as explained by the band, is a “reflection of the plane of existence we’re all currently trapped upon”, taking an introspective look at modern life and the world around them.

Mixed by frontman Owen Penglis (who has worked with Royal Headache, Frowning Clouds, Mini Skirt and Palms over the years), the album was recorded over just two days, live to tape. The quick turn-around led to some intense rehearsals ahead of time, resulting in some incredibly tight performances on the record. 

Having built a strong reputation as live performers early in the piece, Straight Arrows have maintained consistency right throughout their career. As well as headlining packed rooms around the country, the band have rubbed shoulders with some huge names over the years, supporting the likes of The Black Keys, The Buzcocks, Deerhunter, Black Lips and more. The band were also included on the Hoodoo Gurus curated festival Dig It Up! In 2012; were featured on a Gonerfest lineup in Memphis, Tennessee (alongside Ty Segall & Royal Headache), and toured with Thee Oh Sees across the US East Coast.



Tracklist: 1. Fast Product 2. City Ranger 3. Peakin 4. Walkin thur My mind 5. Car Thief 6. Don’t Shoot Me 7. Shop Window 8. It’s Clear 9. Keep On Cryin 10. Summer Skies’ 11. Smoke

View full details