Skip to product information
1 of 2

Peter Broderick - Float 2013

Peter Broderick - Float 2013

Regular price $24.00
Regular price Sale price $24.00
Sale Sold out
Tax included.

01. A Snowflake
02. Floating/Sinking
03. A Glacier
04. A Simple Reminder
05. Stopping On The Broadway Bridge
06. Another Glacier
07. Something Has Changed
08. Broken Patterns
09. An Ending
10. A Beginning

October 2013 will see the reissue of 26-year old American composer Peter Broderick's 2008 debut album Float. Returning to his home in Oregon, where his musical journey began, Peter completes the circle with the release of Float 2013. Remastered by the gifted hands of Nils Frahm, Float 2013 will also include two additional bonus tracks with each album download and will be reissued on CD, vinyl, digital and even on a limited edition cassette via Erased Tapes. The album release will also be accompanied by Float 2013 Addendum, a 7” single featuring ‘Something Has Changed’ re-arranged as a duet for violin and viola, with the new title ‘Something Has Remained’. Brought up in a musical household in Oregon, Peter quickly became a popular session musician for the likes of M. Ward in the Portland area. Later discovered by the Danish band Efterklang he joined their live band and spent the next six years based in Europe where he collaborated with many like-minded contemporaries. Through relentless touring, multiple album recordings and film scores Peter has established himself as a solo artist, known for his innate gift as a musical medium to picking up any instrument, turning his musings into poignant songs. Having previously released ‘Ten Duets‘ on cassette tape, Peter is a big fan of this format and is excited to be taking part in Cassette Store Day on September 7th 2013. Float 2013 will be available in store in a hand numbered limited edition of purple cassettes in bespoke packaging. Fans can view a map of stores that stock the tape and listen to ‘A Snowflake’ here: IN HIS OWN WORDS: ’A dialogue was started with Robert, about the idea of one day giving Float a second chance. And a bit later I found myself in the studio of my dear friend Nils, remastering these songs which on one hand felt so far away, but on the other felt  right at the core of my musical heart, the foundation of my aspirations as a musician. And what Nils did to the sound, how he worked his magic as he always does, filled me with the conviction that this project had not previously reached its potential. In so many ways I've found myself coming around the circle, back to the place I started, only perhaps the circle itself has moved. But the dream is the same. And my little baby has a new pair of shoes: Float 2013.’ – PETER BRODERICK

View full details