Skip to product information
1 of 1

Michael Nyman - War Work: 8 Songs With Film

Michael Nyman - War Work: 8 Songs With Film

Regular price $19.00
Regular price Sale price $19.00
Sale Sold out
Tax included.
1. The Making of Faces
2. Dreaming of Home
3. The Engine Turns
4. The Effects of Gas
5. Song 1: Urtod
6. Song 2: What's Left of the Soldier-Man
7. Song 3: Kinder vor einem Londoner armenspeise Haus
8. Song 4: Haidekampf
9. Puppenkorper
10. Picabia's Pigeons
11. The Dead are Sad Enough in their Eternal Silence
12. Playing at Soldiering
13. The Mechanical Horse
14. A la Pensée des Absents
15. Song 5: The Cavalier's Farewell
16. Song 6: For Just One Night
17. Song 7: Louse Hunting
18. Song 8: Abschied
19. Urtod


Label: MN Records
Cat No: MNRCD138

Taking poetry from the First World War as his inspiration, Nyman has crafted here an eloquent song cycle to film (“a film essay”, as he describes it), presented in two groups of four songs, each preceded by several instrumental movements. The texts were all written by poets who - with the exception of the English artist-poet, David Bomberg - all sadly lost their lives during the First World War. The starting point for the music is the title of a series of poems by French writer, Gaston de Ruyter (shot down on 7th October 1918) - ‘Chansons vielles sur d’autre airs’ (‘Old songs to other tunes’). The ‘chansons vielles’ are the poems by English, French, German and Hungarian poets (mostly sung in their original languages) and the ‘autres airs’ are by English, French, German, Austro-Hungarian, Polish and Italian composers of the 17th and 19th centuries.

The film element, edited by Max Pugh, has been designed around footage sourced from French, German and American First World War film archives and the chosen excerpts deliberately focus on material that previous documenters of the First World War have ignored. There is no voice-over so as to allow the potency of the images in combination with the music to take centre stage.


View full details