Skip to product information
1 of 1

Michael Nyman - The Piano Sings 2

Michael Nyman - The Piano Sings 2

Regular price $19.00
Regular price Sale price $19.00
Sale Sold out
Tax included.

01. Becoming Jerome (Gattaca) 5:49
02. House On Fire (The Actors) 4:46
03. Digital Tragedy (Man With A Movie Camera) 2:43
04. Zinc Bar (The Actors) 2:22
05. The Mood That Passes Through You (The Piano) 2:22
06. Goodbye Moortie (The Diary Of Anne Frank) 3:38
07. Silver-Fingered Fling (The Piano) 3:34
08. Through The Only Window 1:50
09. Sadie's Song 3:34
10. An Eye For Optical Theory (The Draughtsman's Contract) 5:12
11. Dolores (The Actors) 2:14
12. The 7th Visit (Everyday) 2:52
13. The Mistress (The Libertine) 4:27
14. House On Fire (The Actors, Reprise) 1:43
15. Franklyn (Wonderland)

Label: MN Records
Cat No: MNRCD131

The Piano Sings 2 is the second collection of piano music which Michael Nyman has performed and released on his label, MN Records. It covers a wider range, in terms of both chronology and dynamics, than The Piano Sings (MNRCD103) which launched the label in 2005.

It features well-known music from well-known films (The Draughtsman's Contract and The Piano), unknown music from unknown films (Conor McPherson's The Actors and Michael Winterbottom's Everyday) and also music from Enemy Zero (1997) which resurfaced in Michael’s soundtrack for Dziga Vertov's Man with a Movie Camera and in his own film NYman with a Movie Camera. The album also contains two compositions which have no connection with film: Sadie's Song (1999) and Through the Only Window (2012). Franklyn from Michael Winterbottom's Wonderland is self-evidently the model for The 7th Visit and is included on this album as a fond memory of The Piano Sings.

View full details