Skip to product information
1 of 1

Michael Nyman - Nyman / Greenaway Revisited

Michael Nyman - Nyman / Greenaway Revisited

Regular price £13.99
Regular price Sale price £13.99
Sale Sold out
Tax included.

1. An Eye For Optical Theory
2. Queen Of The Night
3. Chasing Sheep Is Best Left To Shepherds
4. Car Crash
5. Time Lapse
6. Vermeer's Wife
7. Trysting Fields / Sheep'n' Tides
8. Wheelbarrow Walk
9. Fish Beach
10. Memorial
11. Come Unto These Yellow Sands
12. Prospero's Curse
13. Miranda

Label: MN Records
Cat No: MNRCD106

Nyman/Greenaway revisited is a collection of the most popular music from the five soundtracks provided by the composer for Peter Greenaway's feature films from 1982 – 1991. Music from 'The Draughtsman's Contract', 'A Zed and Two Noughts', 'Drowning By Numbers', 'The Cook The Thief His Wife And Her Lover', & 'Prospero's Books' is included. Greenaway & Nyman had a very different relationship from that of most directors/composers, with Greenaway giving Nyman immense scope for the music. Nyman responded in kind with some of the best film music of the last quarter century. The working methods even varied from film to film. While the score of Zed and Two Noughts was composed without the composer even having seen a single frame of the film, the climactic scene of The Cook The Thief His Wife and Her Lover was quite deliberately choreographed to the pre-existing piece Memorial. The music for these films became widely known & hugely influential on a succeeding generation of composers and directors.

One of Nyman's most recently completed film scores (for The Libertine) returns the composer to a film with a 17th century setting, with director Laurence Dunmore claiming it was the memory of hearing the music to A Zed and Two Noughts many years ago that led him to commissioning Nyman for this film, while Michael Winterbottom (a director who has also worked extensively with Nyman), used music from The Draughtsman's Contract for his newest film A Cock and Bull Story. This collection of music has also become immensely well known to a wide public audience. Among the most frequently performed contemporary music, whether on classical radio stations, or through use in film, TV programming or advertising use, these pieces are as familiar to a mainstream audience as many contemporary pop and rock songs.

Recorded in April 2005 at Abbey Road Studios, this album is the definitive compilation of the music from the Nyman/Greenaway collaboration.

View full details