Skip to product information
1 of 2

Melt Banana - Fetch (Blue Vinyl)

Melt Banana - Fetch (Blue Vinyl)

Regular price $37.00
Regular price Sale price $37.00
Sale Sold out
Tax included.

Blue Vinyl Repress! From the whip-like crack of Yako’s signature staccato vocals and impossible- to-memorize lyrics to the relentless overdrive tempo of their one of- a-kind prog-core, Melt-Banana have long resided in a cybertopia of their own devising where the limits of technology and human capability are old-world concerns as quaint and cumbersome as bartering with a blacksmith. The demos for Fetch, their first studio album since the severely fried pop-punk of 1997’s Bambi’s Dilemma, were completed in March 2011, but the Fukushima earthquake changed everything, including their ability to concentrate on recording. Which stopped completely. Once they felt ready to return to their music, they decided to approach the songs on a sound-by-sound basis, choosing each tone with meticulous attention to detail, affirming their personal connections, being themselves naturally and openly. Fetch scrapes glam shimmers off punk’s outermost fringes and forges them into a rather intensely technical Deanscape packed with fantastical hybrids. Agata’s guitar riffs, seemingly composed in tandem with skipping CD players, are more bad-ass than ever, bright and fractured like the soundtrack for a CC-Hennix-scored biker flick. The album is juiced with electronics and post-rock production, tempering what could easily be a tiresome and predictable frenzy, yielding unexpected associations: Kate Bush climaxing on Walter White’s blue meth; demos of late-period Wire playing metal run through Wasp synthesizers and Autotune; unripe wild lychees keeping time on an Ankgor Wat tin roof during a monsoon. 


1. Candy Gun
2. The Hive
3. Vertigo Game
4. Left Dog (Run, Caper, Run)
5. Infection Defective
6. My Missing Link
7. Zero+
8. Schemes of the Tails
9. Lie Lied Lies
10. Red Data, Red Stage
11. Then Red Eyed
12. Zero
View full details