Skip to product information
1 of 1

Doug McKechnie - San Francisco Moog '68 - '72 Vol. 2- LP

Doug McKechnie - San Francisco Moog '68 - '72 Vol. 2- LP

Regular price £26.99
Regular price Sale price £26.99
Sale Sold out
Tax included.


1. Search For An Honest Man
2. Meditation Moog 2
3. Glide
4. Live At The Family Dog
5. Gyre & Gimble
6. Moving
7. Mr. Toad?s Wild Ride
8. Rumble, Ramp, Explosion

The first volume of San Francisco Moog: 1968-72 introduced the world to a trove of recordings from a little-known hinge point in electronic-music history. Vol. 2 brings to light the rest of tapes—and the rest of the story. In 1968, Bay Area native Doug McKechnie got hold of one the very first modular Moog synthesizers ever made and began finding his own way to play it. Soon, he was hauling the finicky instrument around to perform improvised concerts at colleges and psychedelic ballrooms, as well as an ill-fated appearance on the bill at Altamont. Some of the performances were recorded, and the surviving tapes—never before released—capture a free-flowing, transportive sound that fills in the gap between the austere mid-century academic avant garde and the expansive cosmic suites of Tangerine Dream and the rest of the Berlin School in the ’70s. Vol. 2 captures a wider range of sounds and moods, encompassing austere sonic experiments, early sequenced pulses, and melodic etudes.

“These pieces represent amazingly fully formed early approaches to the very idea of musical synthesis...arresting even to modern ears.” —Goldmine

“Presages both Tangerine Dream’s soundtracks and, in its most grimy moments, Acid Tracks.” —The Wire

View full details