Arcade Sound



Giles Corey


  • Limited deluxe 2LP box set + 150-page book on The Flenser. Edition of 2000 copies (FR62)

Format: 2LP / BOOK / BOXSET
Cata No: FR62
Barcode: 723175699250

“‘Some time in the Spring of 2009, I tried to kill myself. Six months before
that, I used a Voor’s Head Device for the first time.’ This line opens the
150-page book that accompanies Giles Corey, an intensely personal, intimate
portrait of depression that took me almost four years to make.” —Dan Barrett
Giles Corey’s haunting self-titled debut album has gained a fervent cult following
over the years, yet has never been released on vinyl—until now. The
Flenser is very proud to offer a deluxe double+LP box-set, which includes
the same 150-page book that accompanied the original version.
Originally released as a limited-edition CDr and novel by Enemies List
Home Recordings in 2011, Giles Corey is the gloomy folk solo project from
Have A Nice Life mastermind Dan Barrett. Here, Barrett forgoes the posttrappings of Have A Nice Life and the smooth digital resonation
of Black Wing (debut album recently released by The Flenser) in favor of
a more intimate singer-songwriter approach. While thematically related to
his other work, dealing with subjects like suicide, death and the paranormal,
Giles Corey is more personal. Oscillating between quiet desperation and
cathartic outbursts, the album is dark but also purgative. For many, it is like
a religious experience, and certainly not for the frail of heart.
The accompanying book is an integral part of the album. Its examinations
of the life and times of cult leader Robert Voor parallel the themes within
the lyrics and offer further immersion for the reflective listener. In Barrett’s
own words: “The album follows a story arc of emotions that are detailed
in the accompanying book, as much a part of this record as the music. The
text switches between personal tales of struggles with depression, suicide,
and a feeling of being lost, and the story of cult-leader and afterlife theorist
Robert Voor. Voor’s writings on death and the afterlife feature prominently
across Have A Nice Life’s Deathconsciousness, Nahvalr’s self-titled debut,
and Giles Corey, making him the unifying factor behind most of the music
I’ve written in the last ten years. This record is as personal and raw as anything
I’ve ever done.”
The deluxe double-LP box-set is limited to 2000 copies.


1. The Haunting Presence
2. Blackest Bile
3. Grave Filled With Books
4. Empty Churches
5. I?m Going To Do It
6. Spectral Bride
7. No One Is Ever Going To Want Me
8. Sleeping Heart
9. Buried Above Ground

Share this product